Adventures in weaving

After a few years now, of seeing woven wallhangings out and about (and selling for hundreds and hundreds of dollars), I decided to learn to weave.

Because a) how hard could it be? and b) surely it will come in handy after the apocalypse.

I decided to start with a mini loom kit from the Handmaker’s factory and it was so easy. I plunged straight in without watching any tutorials or anything so I made a lot of mistakes in my first wallhanging, but I still think it turned out fine.

screen-shot-2016-10-27-at-9-39-31-pm screen-shot-2016-10-27-at-9-39-40-pm screen-shot-2016-10-27-at-9-39-59-pm screen-shot-2016-10-27-at-9-40-13-pm

screen-shot-2016-10-27-at-9-49-27-pm

My 3yo was so tremendously in awe and jealous of said wallhanging that I had to make her one for her room too. Her brief? “I want blue and red and some of that shiny silver and some of that “cotton wool”, mummy.”

screen-shot-2016-10-27-at-9-47-34-pm

screen-shot-2016-10-27-at-9-48-53-pm

Ready to hang on her wall. I ended up having to put it somewhere really high and pointless to stop her from pulling on it … maybe it can go somewhere more appropriate to its size when she’s not, you know, three years old…

She loves it.

But having made two little ones now, I wanted something bigger, so I bought this:

screen-shot-2016-10-27-at-8-45-09-pmIt’s the “apprentice” loom from Loom and Spindle. I threaded it this afternoon. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Craft and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Adventures in weaving

  1. SleepyTown says:

    Is this anything like an Inkle loom?? I honestly have no idea but I need one so I can try making stuff for my Viking costumes (big nerd, long story). Having nil experience in weaving, I have no idea how long the learning curve will be. Was it difficult for you to learn?

    • No, these are very basic lap looms, ideal for beginners. It wasn’t difficult at all; like I said, I sort of glanced at a few instructional things and then just went straight in, and it turned out ok. If you’re used to sewing or embroidery or anything like that, it should be fine. GO FOR IT

  2. Ive always wanted to try weaving. These look great. Especially for first attempts.

Leave a Reply

