IT’S FINALLY FINISHED THAT’S WHAT IT IS

THIS IS ME RIGHT NOW

giphy

Because the MOTHER-FLIPPING feature wall is finally FINISHED that’s what it MOTHER-FLIPPING IS!!!!
Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 8.58.00 PMAnd all I have to say is, I will never doubt the difference between proper Contact and cheaper imitations ever again.

I cut the bottom bit of the stencil using proper Contact, and it was the best stencil ever. The knife cut out my design nicely, without tearing; it  didn’t break while I was putting it on the wall despite the many holes in it; and it came off nicely too.

BUT.

I couldn’t find any proper Contact for the rest of the stencil (I think it was the Christmas break; I expect it was all bought up by kids going back to school) and so I bought cheapo el-crappo fake no-brand contact from Bunnings for the rest of the stencil. How bad can it be? I thought. Ooooh dear.

It tore while I was cutting AND while it was being put up. The adhesive didn’t stay on while the paint was drying:

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 9.19.44 PM

which lead to this:

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 9.18.40 PM

Those are NOT clean edges, people. NOT CLEAN EDGES AT ALL.

It took me months of on-and-off handpainting to clean that shit up.

Also, the sticky residue it left? IS STILL THERE, MONTHS LATER.

Moral of the story? Much like cheap superglue, cheap Contact is CHEAP FOR A REASON.

This entry was posted in Craft, Decorating and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IT’S FINALLY FINISHED THAT’S WHAT IT IS

  1. Angela says:

    The finished results looks great! I tried a stenciling project about 12 years ago, and I’ve never finished it. Or repainted over the part I stenciled. So it’s look like crap but I’m too lazy to paint over it.

  2. Aww, thank you! Yep, I’ve been there…

Leave a Reply

