I went to paperlicious and I loved it

I went to Unleash Creative‘s Paperlicious event last month and it was lovely.

Paperlicious lightbox with mooses

I wish I knew who made those moose statues, they’re pretty spectacular.

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 9.14.16 PM

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 9.17.11 PMMy god, the food. And the pretty way it was displayed! And the washi tape cross stitch backdrop!

We had a session with Kate Pullen on hand lettering our own card designs

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 9.15.05 PMAnd a session with Paula Mills from Sweet William on water colours, which was really interesting because we were barely allowed to look at the paper, only at what we were painting, and we weren’t really supposed to lift our paintbrush off the paper (I’m not telling which one is mine):Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 9.11.21 PMAnd the finally a session with Pete Cromer on paper collage. First we came up with our designs:

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 9.10.55 PMAnd then we painted all the bits. It was oddly satisfying. I’m used to making paper craft with whatever colour paper I happen to have so it was kind of nice to tailor exactly what colours you wanted (that said, we’d kind of run out of paint by the end of the day so we had to make do with what we could find in the bottom of tubes. Still, I was happy with the colour combos I managed):

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 9.10.14 PM

When I got home, I expected my child to steal this one (in fact I’d designed it with her in mind) but nope – she yelled for the watercolour and got very anxious until it was propped up on her table. It’s hers now, apparently.

We even got a goodie bag to take away!

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 9.09.34 PMNot surprisingly, it was pretty much all women; and a lot of creative types. There were textile designers and bloggers and school teachers; and a lot of them were mums who were just happy to have a day spent doing something creative for themselves. Sounded familiar 🙂

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Craft, Melbourne and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I went to paperlicious and I loved it

  1. Oh wow! That looks like a fun day! I think I’m going to have to attend one of these events!

Leave a Reply

