Antonio D’Agostini

I pulled some of my old storybooks out of storage a few weeks ago, since my child has embraced Disney with open arms but hasn’t actually been given any traditional fairytales (we’ve been reading her a lot of Dr Seuss and Hairy Maclary).

Luckily I have at least four copies of each story in my possession, someway or other (well, and a bunch of academic titles on the subject since I did my honours thesis on children’s literature, but she can’t have them).

I always loved these two — the most ginormous versions of The Sleeping Beauty and Snow White. The illustrations, by Antonio D’Agostini, were just fantastic — enormously 70s, but just fantastic.

I’ve been having trouble finding out much about the artist, so he clearly wasn’t a big deal, but he left an impression on me. Hopefully these will help somebody somewhere googling him (or somebody somewhere googling him who knows more will be kind enough to leave a comment).

The Sleeping Beauty Antonio DagostiniThe Sleeping Beauty Antonio Dagostini the fairiesThe Sleeping Beauty Antonio Dagostini Aurora

The Sleeping Beauty Antonio Dagostini i shall save you

I AM SUCH A HERO LOOK AT MY WHITE HORSE ALSO I DON’T LOOK AT ALL LIKE THE VILLAIN FROM HIGHLANDER

The Sleeping Beauty Antonio Dagostini married

LOOK I SAVED HER AND NOW I LOOK A BIT LIKE KEANU REEVES

Snow White Antonio Dagostini

Snow White Antonio Dagostini Queen

The Evil Queen always has the best outfits ever. It’s in her contract.

Snow White Antonio Dagostini Here lies a kings daughter

“Ooh, what an attractive corpse, can I have it?” “Sure thing, mate.”

Snow White Antonio Dagostini I found a girl

“She woke up, yay! Now she’ll be much easier to carry! Bye, little men!”


This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Antonio D’Agostini

  1. Andi says:

    Hello, I am sorry to disturb you, but I was just wondering if you were interested in selling the Snow White book? I have been looking to buy this book for a long time and I couldn’t find it anywhere. I would be very interested in buying it if you were interested. Thank you

  2. Dindi says:

    D’AGOSTINI, Antonio

    Fra tutti gli illustratori della Malipiero, probabilmente Antonio D’Agostini (Vicenza, 1942 – 2011) è stato quello che ha ottenuto maggior successo anche come pittore.
    Fondatore della casa editrice Avalon, diventa celebre producendo il volume King Arthur da lui scritto ed illustrato al quale seguono diverse mostre personali e pubblicazioni.
    Di fatto acquistare una tavola di D’Agostini significa acquistare un’opera giovanile di un artista divenuto celebre: un vero pezzo da collezione.
    Per saperne di più:
    – D’AGOSTINI, Antonio: King Arthur. Le gesta del leggendario re di Britannia. Narrate e illustrate da Antonio D’Agostini. s.l. : Avalon, 1981
    – D’AGOSTINI, Antonio: I cavalieri della tavola rotonda. Interpretazione ideale della Ricerca del Graal tratta dai romanzi di Sir Thomas Malory; scritti e illustrati da Antonio D’Agostini. s.l. : Avalon, 1982
    – D’AGOSTINI, Antonio: Parsifal. Interpretazione ideale della Ricerca del Graal tratta dai romanzi di Chretien De Troyes; scritti e illustrati da Antnonio D’Agostini. s.l. : Avalon, 1982.
    – PASSONI, Franco (a cura di): Antonio D’Agostini; Milano : Giorgio Mondadori, 1994
    (fondamentale biografia e catalogo delle opere)
    – PASSONI, Franco: Antonio D’Agostini. I cavalieri del Graal e le tematiche wagneriane. Milano : Mazzotta, 1988 (catalogo della mostra di Milano, Palazzo Bagatti Valsecchi, 15 dic 1988 – 16 gen 1989)

Leave a Reply

