Yeah, well, boohoo. It could be worse

Sick. Hate being sick, as have mentioned before. Was miserably thinking of all the things I haven’t been able to do this week: mothers group activities; a planned play date with a friend who has a baby; another trip to eat ice cream in Fitzroy; gardening; eating foods that aren’t dry toast.

Then I decided to snap out of it. I’m not dying. Things could be massively worse.

So, I decided to count my blessings instead. Here are a few that occurred to me, in no particular order. If you think they are overly dramatic, you obviously aren’t imagining hard enough how bad it would be to be in these situations while you also have diarrhoea.

Anyway, I am grateful that:

  • Our house/suburb/city is not on fire.
  • The extra-enthusiastic bowel movements are not being caused by cancer treatment or some other terrifying disease-related thing that just adds insult to injury.
  • I am not pregnant (you can’t take most meds while you’re pregnant, including ones to try to help bind you up. Also, being sick at all while pregnant is terrifying because you are worried that it will adversely affect the baby)
  • Our baby did not get sick (I made her promise me this morning to never, ever develop any illness of any kind. She giggled and then tried to play the game where we blow air out of our noses loudly. But I know she understood).
  • I am in my own home, which includes heating, a comfy bed, a fully functioning and very nice bathroom, a fully functional laundry and plenty of other creature comforts. It is also not overrun with vermin of any kind. I cannot imagine what it must be like to be sick while living rough. I pray that I never have to find out (I wish that no one ever had to find out).
  • I am not in a warzone, or prison, or some sort of post-apocalyptic situation.
  • My partner isn’t some sort of weird jerk who objects to women actually having bowels and sometimes needing to use the toilet

Because all those things would suck when you also have gastro.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yeah, well, boohoo. It could be worse

  1. Pingback: Sick, sick, sick SICK SICK SICK SICK BLOODY SICK | lisaslifelately

Leave a Reply

