I fucking hate those things

I bloody hate those smug little stickers people have started putting on their cars, showing who’s in their family. It’s like Comic Sans mated with a “Baby On Board” sign to make an irritating proclamation of the fecundity and wealth of the driver (“look at me! I’m not only fertile, I can afford to have three children!”).

So when I saw this on the back of a ute, I did a little dance of rejoicing. And, even though it was 10pm and my phone has no flash, I did my best to get a picture:

I read an article online that said that this sort of thing is just one more sign of our modern self-absorption: “Perhaps it was inevitable that some families would start promoting themselves like brands by posting their pictures on the rear windows of their cars.”

Either way, I fucking hate those fucking things and I would have shaken this ute driver’s hand if he had been around. So there.

UPDATE: Some friends living overseas wanted to know what the hell I was talking about in this post. This is how you buy them:

So, for instance, you get to pick what sort of mum you are from a selection of 17 options, all of them happy (where’s angry drunk mum? Post-natal depression mum? Mum whose work pretending it would be supportive of her work-life balance once she had kids, but who were full of shit? Well? WELL??!!)

Anyway, then people put them on their cars, like so:

And I always want to rip them off.

SECOND UPDATE: Bugger it, the second update gets its own post.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I fucking hate those things

  1. Pingback: In case you also hate those fucking things | lisaslifelately

Leave a Reply

