Marshmallows

My recent run-in with the wonder that is home-made marshmallows left me seriously desirous of trying my hand at it. It was worth it 🙂

I used this recipe for raspberry marshmallows and this recipe for passionfruit marshmallows. They both told lies; the raspberry one said you needed about twice as many berries as you did, while the passionfruit one said you needed 10 when you needed about 14.

As for all the leftover fruit pulp, I did what I always do with it; and set it aside with some vodka to get nice and infused 🙂

I mean, I couldn’t let it go to waste.

You need a sugar thermometer, one of which I have.

Then you add the fruit/gelatin and add the whole lot to a beaten egg white.

One recipe used gelatin powder and one used sheet gelatin. I’ve had terrible experiences with the sheet form of gelatin in the past, but I decided to face my fears — AND I happened to have some of the exact strength they wanted already. From the time it went horribly wrong.

Anyway, they both turned out fine, which was reassuring.

and beat the hell out of it for ages. The raspberry one was a lot darker than the passionfruit:

For some reason, the passionfruit also didn’t quite beat up as much as the berry; maybe the eggwhite? I did use a different beater on the machine, maybe it just did a better job…

Then you just let it set 🙂

and chop the sticky mess up, throwing around loads of icing sugar mixed with rice flour (I was supposed to use snow sugar but like I was buying that)

The passionfruit one wasn’t as pretty, or as soft and squishy. But it’s still noice 🙂

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marshmallows

  1. Prue says:

    They look awesome Lisa! Now I want to make them

Leave a Reply

