Asian-style dumpling soup made with stuff I needed to finish off

I had  some veggies that were about to be beyond saving, plus a bunch of stuff I needed to use up in the freezer to make room for my next batch of goodies, so, I invented this after work and it was so good, I wanted both to remember it myself, and share it; so here it is.

It is in no way authentic to anywhere in Asia that I know of and if I had to describe it I’d say sort of half Thai, half Japanese, all delicious. It was fragrant and light and quick to prepare, and it shall be my lunch for the rest of the week. Hooray!

Ingredients

4 cups chicken stock

Half a chilli, chopped as finely as you can be bothered (mine was slightly manky. Yours need not be)

1 stalk lemon grass, bashed about a bit then chopped roughly (I used a puny one from the garden so you could probably get away with half of one)

1 kaffir lime leaf (ditto)

Soy sauce and fish sauce, to taste (I probably used four or five tablespoons each, which would be a bit too much for some people — try half of that and then taste it to see if you want to add more)

Veggies (I used three carrots and two slightly manky bok choi; put in whatever you like)

Dumplings, cooked (I had six Japanese pork pot-stickers/gyoza left over from my last batch, which I wanted to use up. You could just as easily leave these out, or use a bit of leftover meat or even some rice noodles)

Torn herbs such as thai basil, mint and coriander to taste (I used about 2tbsn common mint and 1tbspn basil mint, because that’s what I had)

Fried shallots to taste (I used about a third of a cup, as I love them)

Sesame oil to taste (I used a good dollop)

Lime juice to taste (I used a whole one because I’m a sucker for sour)

Method

Bring the stock to a good boil with the chilli, lime leaf and lemon grass.

Reduce heat and add the veggies and sauces. Leave for about five minutes or until veggies are cooked, then add the fried shallots, lime juice, herbs and dumplings.

Eat and rejoice.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

