Smartie cookies

I have been wanting to make Smartie cookies for ages but couldn’t find a recipe that I was happy with; so, in the end, I sort of invented my own.

If you want to try, here it is:

Ingredients*

225 butter
1 cup raw caster sugar
2 large eggs
90g Vivani Organic White Chocolate with Vanilla** chopped
2.5 cups of plain flour
3/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
pinch of salt
70g Little Gems***

*I use organic, ethically produced, natural and local ingredients whenever possible.

** I use this white chocolate whenever I can, as it’s the closest I can find to fair trade in a white chocolate. It is also YUM; all dotted with black vanilla seeds and smelling awesome. If you can’t find it at your local organic shop, substitute whatever white chocolate you prefer but don’t forget to add some vanilla (preferably real). The chocolate comes in 100g bars; using 90g in this recipe leaves you one square to eat while you’re chopping up the rest.

*** You got me; I didn’t use Smarties. Little Gems are an organic, all-natural version (the only one that I’ve found in Melbourne). They come in cute little 35g boxes. Two boxes leaves you enough to make these and eat some yourself.

Method

Preheat oven to 150 degrees.

Melt 45 grams of the butter with the chocolate (30 seconds in the microwave should to it, depending on how powerful your unit is). Leave to cool a little.

Sift the dry ingredients together.

Beat the leftover butter with the sugar until creamy. Add the eggs and beat well. Mix in the chocolate mix and then add the dry ingredients, mixing until it all just comes together. The mix should be soft and tender.

Drop generous tablespoons of the mixture onto whatever you’re baking them in (use your tray of choice. Some cookbooks insist on cookie sheets for cookies, but I prefer something with higher sides, because I don’t like cookies to be too crisp. That said, these do turn out pretty crisp), about two inches apart to leave them room to spread out.

Smooth the top of the cookies so that you can make a pattern of Gems/Smarties; I used six on each — feel free to put on as many as you like.

Bake for 20 minutes, leave to cool for five minutes and then move to wire rack to cool.

This makes about 30 cookies; so, unless you have a huge family to feed or a party to cater, freeze some of the mixture for cooking later. I wrap tablespoons of the mixture in gladwrap and then put a heap into a plastic container. I make sure to write the cooking instructions on the label so I don’t have to look it up again.

I don’t keep frozen home-made cookie mixture for more than a month because of the egg in it, but you’ll have to decide how long you’re comfortable with.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Smartie cookies

  1. Pingback: Freckle cookies | lisaslifelately

Leave a Reply

