Ignoring the UFO in the corner

Last week, I learnt the crafting term “UFO” — unfinished object. It’s a project that you’re halfway through, but seems to be, more specifically, a project that you’ve been halfway through for a while and there’s no end in sight.

I was really happy when I learnt this term because it meant that I was not alone. For instance, here are some of mine:

I picked these papers out of my collection of pretty paper two weeks ago, to make paper bunting; I just need to get to the making part and this will probably get done this week.
This is my collection of pretty caps, from the top of champagne corks. I decided about a year ago that I should make them into fridge magnets, but it’s going to be slightly tricky, as I want to fill the backs, rather than just glue them to a magnet. I think I’m holding back with this one for the simple reason that it’s going to be messy and we don’t have a good place to do that kind of thing at home.
This is the photo album from a holiday I took 18 months ago. All the photos that I want are in there; but I still want to add captions and insert admission tickets and so on into it. I’ve half-forgotten what everything is, though, so I’ll need to cross-reference the photos with the itinerary and… yawn…

This was supposed to become Christmas ornaments… before Christmas.

Yep, crochet. I think the problem with this one is that I have always had a block about crochet. I have it in my head that it’s hard and so, despite the fact that multiple people have said “no, it’s not” and “pfft” and “YOU won’t have trouble with it”, I just can’t seem to make myself break open that ball of cotton… even to crochet some ninjas and some cute monkeys with fezes on their heads.

The above isn’t a creative project, but my pile of things to sell on eBay. I’ve included it here because, again, it’s something that I seem to have a block about doing. I’ve taken pics of most of this stuff and everything; I just need to actually post it all up, which I have no idea how to do. Despite the fact that I am in no way computer illiterate or a beginner at the whole online-marketplace-thing, I have this idea that it’s hard and can’t bring myself to actually sit down and do it.

Anyway, I loved the term UFO for about three days; but now I’ve decided that it’s actually incredibly unhelpful. I think labelling things as something “unfinished” rather than just thinking about them as something you’re in the middle of, encourages you to think that it’s ok to not complete these projects.

And I’m totally finishing these things. Because, in the words of Allie from hyperboleandahalf, I get shit done.

And hopefully, now that I’ve posted this, you will all pester me to do them…

This entry was posted in Craft and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ignoring the UFO in the corner

  1. Pingback: Paper craft and champagne-cap magnets | lisaslifelately

Leave a Reply

