Purple sponge cake fail

Because I love to try new things, when I spotted this in the organic shop:

I had to buy it. And despite the fact that I know that wheat flour has a certain properties, and that the grind of flour is important, I still believed them when they said “just go ahead and use it like you would wheat flour”. And despite the fact that I knew that sponge cake is very finnicky, that’s what I decided to make.

It looked promising, and a nice purple colour, but I suspected that it would go brown when baked (again, in spite of promises that it would lend an “exotic” hue to my dish).

It was a disaster. It just wouldn’t dry out or set, despite pretending otherwise. I tried cooking it for twice as long as I should have and in the end, only the outside cooked properly while the inside went hard with a smooshy layer around it. Which I ditched (it was mutual).

 

Luckily, I was making lamingtons. Which turned out fine:

Those really small ones were my born out of my determination to ice and coconut even the smallest bits of cake that I could salvage. Since it should have made at least twice as many, there was a bit too much icing leftover; boohoo, I had to make coconutty chocolates out of it:

And at least the washing up was pretty:

UPDATE: Apparently this is one of my most popular posts. Please comment and tell me what you were looking for, and if you found this helpful!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Purple sponge cake fail

  1. Pingback: Purple sponge cake fail — follow up | lisaslifelately

  2. Pingback: Purple pancake almost fail | lisaslifelately

Leave a Reply

